TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD

MEETING MINUTES

Of July 22, 2022

Call to Order:

Chairperson Alderman Walter Miller called the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting to order at 9:04 am at the Blue Flame Building, 17th Floor (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Avenue, El Paso, TX 79901, and also conducted the meeting telephonically and by video conference. TPB Member attendance was as follows:

MEMBERS PRESENT	TITLES	MEMBERS ABSENT	TITLES
1. Walter Miller (Chair)	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon City	Cesar Blanco	TX State Senator
2. Ricardo Samaniego (V-Chair)	Judge, El Paso County	Joseph Cervantes	NM State Senator, District 31
3. Rudy Cruz	City of Socorro, District 3 Representative	Dino Coronado	Alderman, Town of Clint
4. Trent Doolittle	District Engineer, NMDOT	Art Fierro	TX State Representative – 79th District
5. Mary E. Gonzalez	TX State Representative – 75th District	Oscar Leeser	Mayor, City of El Paso
6. Tommy Gonzalez	City Manager, City of El Paso	Isela Reyes	Mayor, City of San Elizario, TX
7. Cassandra Hernandez	City of El Paso Representative – District 3	Benjamin Romero	Mayor, Town of Anthony, TX
8. Yvette Hernandez	CID Grant Funded Program Director, COEP	Diana Murillo	Mayor, Anthony, NM
9. Iliana Holguin	El Paso County Commissioner, Precinct 3		
10. Manuel Leos	Mayor, Village of Vinton		
11. Cissy Lizarraga	City of El Paso Representative – District 8		
12. Willie Madrid	New Mexico State Representative District 53		
13. Joe Moody	TX State Representative – 78th District		
14. Claudia Ordaz-Perez	TX State Representative – 76th District		
15. Lina Ortega	TX State Representative – 77th District	MPO STAFF	
16. Norma Palacios	Assistant Public Works Director, County of El Paso	Sergio Estrada	MPO/TPB Attorney
17. Javier Perea	Mayor, Sunland Park, NM	Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
18. Henry Rivera	City of El Paso Representative - District 7	Harrison Plourde	Assistant Director
19. Sam Rodriguez	Director of Aviation, El Paso International Airport	Jeff Howell	Senior Planner
20. Manuel Sanchez	County Commissioner, Doña Ana County	Tim McDaniel	Associate Regional Transportation Analyst
21. Ellen Smyth	Director, Mass Transit-Sun Metro	Claudia Valles	Transportation Planner
22. Tomas Trevino	District Engineer, TXDOT El Paso District	Gabriela Lopez	Transportation Financial Analyst
OTHERS PRESENT		OTHERS PRESENT	
Raul Ortega	TXDOT EI Paso District	Kelvin Kroeker	HNTB
Raymond Telles		Bob Storch	

(Meeting began with 17 members)

• No Public Comment: No member of the public signed up for Initial Public Comment.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION:

- Minutes of the June 17, 2022, EPMPO TPB meeting. Motion to approve the minutes of the June 17, 2022, EPMPO TPB meeting made by Representative Lina Ortega and seconded by Mayor Javier Perea. Motion passed unanimously.
- 2. Consider authorizing the Executive Director to sign and send to the Texas Transportation Commission a Letter of Support for Fiscal Year (FY) 2023 Unified Transportation Plan (UTP)
 - Lina Ortega commented
 - Iliana Holguin comm
 - Ricardo Samaniego commented
 - Iliana Holguin commented
 - Tomas Trevino commented

Motion to authorize the Executive Director to sign and send to the Texas Transportation Commission a Letter of Support for FY 2023 UTP made by Representative Lina Ortega and seconded by Judge Ricardo Samaniego. Motion passed unanimously.

 Consider authorizing the Executive Director to execute the Second Amendment to the Interlocal Cooperation Agreement between EI Paso MPO and the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) to increase the contract amount from \$750,000 to a maximum amount of \$900,000

Motion to authorize the Executive Director to execute the Second Amendment to the Interlocal Cooperation Agreement between El Paso MPO and the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) to increase the contract amount from \$750,000 to a maximum amount of \$900,000 made by Representative Lina Ortega and seconded by Judge Ricardo Samaniego. Motion passed unanimously.

- 4. Consider authorizing the Executive Director to execute Task Order #8 with a maximum funding amount of \$120,000, pursuant to the Interlocal Cooperation Agreement between El Paso MPO and UTEP. UTEP will provide assistance in Travel Demand Modeling, Air Quality Conformity and Public Involvement Activities and Other Activities included in the El Paso MPO's Unified Planning Work Program Motion to authorize the Executive Director to execute Task Order #8 with a maximum funding amount of \$120,000, pursuant to the Interlocal Cooperation Agreement between El Paso MPO and UTEP made by Representative Lina Ortega and seconded by Representative Willie Madrid. Motion passed unanimously.
- Consider authorizing the Executive Director to sign the Federal Fiscal Years 2023-2026 Cooperative Agreement between El Paso MPO and the New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT).
 Motion to authorize the Executive Director to sign the Federal Fiscal Years 2023-2026 Cooperative Agreement between El Paso MPO and the NMDOT made by Manuel Leos and seconded by Judge Ricardo Samaniego. Motion passed unanimously.
- Authorize the Executive Director, or his designee, to seek the assignment or update of Federal Functional Classification (FFC) for the following roadways in El Paso County, Texas
 Motion to authorize the Executive Director, or his designee, to seek the assignment or update of Federal Functional Classification (FFC) for the following roadways in El Paso County, Texas made by Iliana Holguin and seconded by Judge Ricardo Samaniego. Motion passed unanimously.

REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:

- 7. Second Performance Period Report for CMAQ Traffic Congestion and On-road Mobile Source Emissions Targets Presenter: Gabriela Lopez (MPO)
 - Ellen Smyth commented
- 8. FY 2024-2025 Transportation Alternative Set Aside (TASA) Program Call for Projects **Presenter: Tim McDaniel (MPO)**
- 9. EPMPO Federal Transit Administration (FTA) 5310 Request for Proposals for Fiscal Years (FY) 2023-2024 Presenter: Jeff Howell (MPO)
- 10. NM CMAQ Mandatory Call for Projects Presenter: Gabriela Lopez (MPO)
- 11. RMS 2020 Project Status Report Presenter: Gabriela Lopez (MPO)

• Tomas Trevino commented

- 12. Executive Director's Report
 - a) Statewide TxDOT-MPO Safety Task Force
 - b) 2022 Federal Certification Review for El Paso MPO
 - c) Update on proposed amendments to Operational Agreement between El Paso MPO and the City of El Paso

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo, Executive Director (MPO)

• Ellen Smyth commented

The **next meeting** of the TPB is scheduled for <u>9:00 a.m.</u> on <u>August 19, 2022</u>, at the at Blue Flame Building, Floor 17 (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Ave, El Paso, TX 79901

13. Adjournment.

Motion to adjourn at 9:50 a.m. made by Commissioner Iliana Holguin, seconded by Representative Henry Rivera. Motion carried unanimously.

Approved as to content:

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary of the Transportation Policy Board for the El Paso MPO Study Area